exposure triangle and beyond

Now that I feel some mastery of the exposure triangle controls on the camera (knob atop the camera for aperture, ring around the lens for shutter speed, OK button + arrows for ISO – in the manual Olympus calls things you can do from the OK button the “live control”, obtusely) I’ve started playing with looking through the viewfinder versus looking at the LED screen.  The viewfinder is really great for bright sun, which is important to me – the only time I might really have to shoot seems to be during a lunch hour, terrible time of day for taking photos, but nice to have options!  I’ve also purchased a cover for the camera (made by OP/TECH USA), so I can easily put it in a backpack or large purse and not worry about it too much.

So many things to learn that I think I’ll state an aim here, about what to learn next.  I want to link the camera to my iphone to make it easy to post things to instagram – so that’s one thing.  And I want to understand the focus grid.  Right now, the camera seems to be lighting up a square at the upper right for focusing – not sure why or how, so I’ll dive deeply there next.Image

taken during lunch hour at UC Berkeley – 

By thejenthat

cultural inquiries and wordpress newbie with serious goals

Leave a comment