15. Great Grandmothers series: Mildred Hammond Emanuel Veit

Routines are good; routines supported us through a pandemic; and new routines are really good. The blogger for this blog nonetheless is taking a short hiatus so posts for a bit will be minimalist. 

One of my great grandmothers, the mother to my paternal grandmother, is Mildred Hammond Emanuel Veit (born April 1872 in Essex County, MA; died April 1956 in Manhattan, NY; married April 1900; only child Edith born February 1901).

She was a daughter, wife, mother, sister, and most famously, a soprano. She was the second daughter of Samuel and Delia Stern Emanuel, and would live in a home in Far Rockaway with her husband, parents, and older sister for much of my grandmother\’s girlhood.

I can find newspaper records of Mildred\’s singing as early as 1893. Mildred was a \”protege\” of Louise Vanderbilt (Mrs. F.W. Vanderbilt).

In 1888, she was the third soprano at Temple Israel of Harlem according to the directories.


Mrs. Vanderbilt wrote her a personal note upon news of Mildred\’s engagement, saying \”My dear Miss Emanuel, I am indeed glad to hear of your happiness!! I only fear the beautiful voice will be neglected…yours sincerely, Louise Vanderbilt\”

When I think of Mildred Hammond Emanuel Veit, I think of the Ted Talk by Joan Williams that I shared in an early post (Post 4). I don\’t know whether Mildred was very content with her life, but she did let my grandmother know that she could not sing, and my grandmother would tell us she knew she could not sing, because her mother had told her so! I wonder whether Mildred was frustrated that her own career ended when she married; I wonder how that frustration may have impacted her daughter.

Doggerel honoring the 50th wedding anniversary of the Veits
a \”token of appreciation\” from an admirer in 1899
1898 program of the Handel Society featuring Mildred Emanuel as soprano

By thejenthat

cultural inquiries and wordpress newbie with serious goals

Leave a comment